Of the long, dark night

Published October 31, 2014 by ireneglasse

Tonight I will dress in the sable colors
of lengthening shadows
and the sands on the bottom of the hourglass
and the deep, cold earth
that will one day hold me forever

I will deck myself in my grandmother’s jewelry
and in strange moments I will smell her perfume
glimpse a flash of copper hair
and bright blue eyes
in the incense rising from the altar

Tonight the spirits in my blood
those bright, brave souls
who fought and loved and lived
and died
will dance

And I will feel the Wheel turn

I will feel the Wheel turn

And in the depths of night I will awaken
to cold air on my bare flesh
I will shiver
and nestle into the arms of my love
to breathe deeply and feel the warmth
of life
dancing with the shadow
in my grandmother’s jewelry

Leave a comment